Eye protection, eyes open or closed, goggles in the box: the maker's own published statement for each mask in the catalogue.
This page reports what each manufacturer has published about eyes. It is not an assessment of any device and not medical advice. Anyone with an eye condition, or taking a medication that makes the eyes sensitive to light, should ask a doctor before using an LED mask.
There is no single answer across brands. Some makers state that no eye protection is needed and that the eyes can stay open. One recommends closing the eyes and wearing the eyewear it ships in the box. Several build a silicone shield into the mask and say little more. And for blue light, one maker that waives goggles on its red mask recommends them on its blue one.
So the question to ask is narrower: what does the maker of this mask say, and where is it written.
Each row is the maker’s own statement, read on its site on 1 October 2026. Where no statement could be found, the row says so.
| Mask | Eye protection, per the maker | Eyes open? | Standard the maker names |
|---|---|---|---|
| Omnilux Contour Face | Not required. Optional eyewear is sold separately | Open or closed, the maker says either | IEC/EN 62471 |
| CurrentBody Skin Series 2 | Approved for use without goggles, the maker says. Optional comfort goggles or eye inserts are included | Not stated on the page read | None named. Wavelength range given as 633 to 1072 nm |
| Dr. Dennis Gross SpectraLite FaceWare Pro | Cleared for use without protective goggles, the maker says | Open or closed, the maker says either | None named |
| Qure Q-Rejuvalight Pro | Maker recommends closing the eyes and wearing the protective eyewear supplied in the box | Maker recommends closed | IEC 62471 |
| iRestore Illumina | Integrated eye shields | Open, per the maker’s product page | None named on the product page |
| MZ Skin LightMax SuperCharged 2.0 | Built-in eye protection. The maker also says to avoid contact with the eyes | Not stated | None named |
| Ulike ReGlow | Built-in silicone eye seal | Not stated | None named |
| Therabody TheraFace Mask Glo | A protective eye shield is listed in the box contents | Not stated on the page read | None named |
Sources: Omnilux, CurrentBody, Dr. Dennis Gross, Qure, iRestore, MZ Skin, Ulike, Therabody.
For three masks in the catalogue no maker statement about eyes was located: Shark CryoGlow, Medisana and Aphrona MOONLIGHT PRO. That is a gap in what could be read, not a finding about the devices. The user manual in the box is the place to look.
CurrentBody draws the line most clearly. Its red and near-infrared mask is described as approved for use without goggles. For its blue light mask, the same company recommends the goggles supplied with it, and its warnings say to fit them so that no light reaches the eyes.
A mask with a blue or mixed mode is therefore worth checking mode by mode. A statement about the red mode does not carry over to the blue one unless the maker says so.
Two makers in the table name a standard: IEC 62471, in Europe IEC/EN 62471. Omnilux calls it the international photobiological eye safety standard, and Qure describes it as the evaluation that determines whether a device’s light output is acceptable for the eyes.
Naming the standard is a claim by the maker. No report was found on either site, so the claim cannot be checked from the outside the way an FDA record can. For what the FDA records do show for each mask, see the clearance check.
Dr. Dennis Gross states that its mask is FDA-cleared to be used without protective goggles. A 510(k) clearance covers a device for stated uses. The sentence about goggles comes from the company’s own page, and this site has not matched it to wording in the public FDA record.
Three makers address it directly. Omnilux and Dr. Dennis Gross say open or closed, whichever is comfortable. Qure recommends closed, with eyewear, and gives its reason: the light is bright and some users are sensitive to it even with the eyes shut.
Dr. Dennis Gross adds two conditions on the same page: not to look directly into the lights, and to ask a doctor first with an underlying eye condition or a medication that sensitises the eyes.
Do LED masks need eye protection? It depends on the mask. Omnilux, CurrentBody (red mask) and Dr. Dennis Gross state that none is needed. Qure recommends eyewear and closed eyes. CurrentBody recommends goggles with its blue light mask.
Can the eyes stay open during a session? Omnilux and Dr. Dennis Gross say yes. Qure recommends keeping them closed. Other makers in the table do not address it on the pages read.
Which LED masks come with goggles? Per the makers: Qure includes protective eyewear, CurrentBody includes optional comfort goggles or eye inserts, and Therabody lists a protective eye shield in the box. Omnilux sells eyewear separately.
Omnilux Contour Face - the maker says no eye protection is needed and names IEC/EN 62471 Check price on Amazon ↗ (paid link)
CurrentBody Series 2 - described by the maker as approved for use without goggles; comfort goggles are included Check price on Amazon ↗ (paid link)
Dr. Dennis Gross DRx - the maker says it is cleared for use without protective goggles Check price on Amazon ↗ (paid link)
Qure Q-Rejuvalight Pro - the maker recommends closed eyes and supplies protective eyewear in the box Check price on Amazon ↗ (paid link)
iRestore Illumina - integrated eye shields, per the maker Check price on Amazon ↗ (paid link)